De Appel timeline

De Appel timeline: 40+ years of risks is an idiosyncratic and celebratory overview of the more than 2000 projects realised, initiated, hosted and programmed at De Appel. This extensive summary engenders a new phase at the organisation by reflecting on what has taken place in the past. It is an inevitable end that marks a new beginning. De Appel timeline: 40+ years of risks is the last project to take place at the current Prins Hendrikkade location.
Director Niels Van Tomme on the Timeline: “The timeline as a linear imaginary stands for ideas of progress, evolution and growth. Installed at a time when De Appel is deliberately (and necessarily) becoming smaller, it marks a moment of sincere reflection and of carving out a new position, both locally and internationally. It marks an instance of ‘becoming minor’: the consciously counteracting of the dictate of growth, which holds the potential to take in a more ethical and ideological position as an organisation. Transforming towards its next phase, De Appel supports, and even encourages artistic and societal positions for which there is no space in today’s globalised consensus culture. Its rich, ongoing history provides an essential backdrop to facilitate such necessary process.”

The installing of the timeline is organized during opening hours
and will be intersected with events revolving around the former
and current directors of de Appel:

Wies Smals: 19 November, 7PM
With: Charlemagne Palestine and guest.
Saskia Bos: 30 November, 7PM
With: Saskia Bos and Nina Folkersma (alumni Curatorial Programme).
Ann Demeester: 3 December, 7PM
With: Ann Demeester and a group of former Curatorial Programme participants.
Lorenzo Benedetti: 10 December, 7PM
With Lorenzo Benedetti and Arno van Roosmalen, director Stroom Den Haag.
Niels Van Tomme: 11 December, 7PM finissage
With Niels Van Tomme, Hiwa K, Mira Asriningtyas, Lucrezia Calabrò Visconti, Mateo Chacon-Pino, Shona Mei Findlay, Kati Ilves and Fadwa Naamna.

de Appel timeline: 40+ years of risks is a concept by Niels Van Tomme, curated by Florence Parot and assisted by Aurélien Lepetit and Petros Orfanos.